Posted by: brittastic | December 3, 2007

Insurance-less for the First Time

It’s been a really long time since I’ve written a post, and that is mainly due to the school related stress which I don’t feel like talking about right now and I’m sure you are all tired of hearing it.

Anyway, since December 1st, 2007, I am now insurance-less. This is very strange for me. It’s strange that if something goes wrong, there is not going to be any way for me to pay for it…strange that I now have to figure out where I can get birth control pills…strange that I will not have a dental cleaning every 6 months. I have had insurance since I was little since my dad worked for the government. He had amazing coverage, and that is one of the things that I am looking forward too once I start working for them as well. Unfortunately, I am no where near that goal, I still have another degree to complete. So, it’s a little frustrating knowing that I will be without this coverage for an extended period of time.

This is just another example of how the United States Health Insurance sucks. Most people between the age of 22-30 are without insurance and that is a scary thought. It is a catch 22 for us. We graduate, most of us have debt, get low paying jobs, and can’t afford to spend our money on insurance when there are higher priorities such as food, rent, car insurance, and other bills. In order to afford insurance we either have to work at a job for an extended period of time to get benefits, or we have to make enough money so that we can support ourselves as well as pay for a health plan.

Anyway, just wanted to let you all know not to hit me with a car or anything, since I won’t be able to afford to fix myself back up, hehe.

Responses

  1. What about the UW’s student insurance? Not worth it? I’m not sure myself, since I know it’s pretty pricey, but would it get you through the school year, at least?

  2. Damn, I was without insurance for a few years and was pretty freaked out that something bad was going to happen.

    Fortunately nothing did…

    But apparently one of my coworkers told me that Planned Parenthood does birth control pills at a reduced rate for a year…. That would get you going for a while.

  3. I was without health insurance for a few years and something bad DID happen. Being sick and insurance-less is not fun times.

    For birth control, I recommend Planned Parenthood, too.

    Also, many adults qualify for free/cheap health insurance through the county health office of whatever county they reside in. Criteria and coverages differ from county to county, but a quick googling tells me that Seattle has something called the Basic Health Plan, which is accepting enrollments right now:

    http://www.basichealth.hca.wa.gov/cost/income.shtml

    Apparently you qualify if your gross income is $1700 or less per month, but there is a premium (looks like about $100 at the highest eligible income level and it scales down from there).

    If you don’t qualify, look into “catastrophic” insurance. Here’s why: if you get sick while uninsured, and then go on insurance, your illness will most likely be considered a pre-existing condition and you will more than likely get fucked (on premiums or on coverage or both). But if you have ANY health insurance prior to getting sick, even low-premium high-deductible shitty insurance, it is much easier to transition onto better insurance later on. Paying $50-100 a month now can make sure you don’t get screwed for thousands of dollars later.

    Don’t write off private insurance without getting some quotes. At least see if you can get ballpark premium quotes from the usual suspects: Blue Cross Blue Shield, United, Aetna, Kaiser, etc.

    Google also tells me that the Seattle Downtown Public Health Center offers reduced-fee basic dental and medical care to low-income Seattle residents:

    http://www.metrokc.gov/health/locations/downtown.htm

    Anyway, health care in the US is the political issue I’m most passionate about right now… don’t get me started on it, once I get going on the subject I take no responsibility for anything that may occur. There might be screaming and cursing and possibly splattering of bodily fluids or gross property damage involved.

  4. Okay, sooooo sorry for not replying to everyone messages sooner. I’ve been EXTREMELY busy over the last month and unfortunately, that probably won’t be changing anytime soon, but at least I will have a few moments to blog and respond to comments.

    Dan, the UW’s health insurance plan would work, but since I will only be here for another two quarters, it just doesn’t seem worth it to me to put it that time and effort of getting accepted. Luckily, I knew when my insurance was going to run out and thus I filled up on everything, including annual visits so I will be covered for a year on the usual stuff.

    Julie, thanks for the suggestion of Planned Parenthood. It wasn’t until your suggestion and another friend’s of mine suggestion that I realized it was not only for teenage mothers, lol. I am definitely going to go there when I run out.

    Morgan, thanks for doing all of that research for me. I truly appreciate it. I was unaware that there were offers like that to at least help the after college kids get some coverage. I will look into all of this.

    The other concern that I have is for John. He has a lot of medical problems and has not been seen for them since he can’t afford it. Hopefully, when I look at this stuff, I can find a suitable solution for him as well, or at least something to tide him over until we can afford better.

  5. It wasn’t really “research,” it was just two quick Google searches.

    Also, if you need a name brand drug and you can’t afford it, look into discount plans at the pharmacy… or even from the manufacturer!

    Advair, for instance, can cost $150-200 per pack… but if you contact the manufacturer (GlaxoSmithKline, http://www.gsk.com) they might be able to send you either free packs or discount coupons.


Leave a Reply

Categories

